Jiang Ye Chapter 71

Chapter 71

Hands still hurt, but not as much thanks to some exercises. It has kept me off the comments as much tho 😡

This chap, was a bit troublesome. The comma usage was killing my usual style of translating as I go, forcing me to read the whole section first.

Translation Notes:

见过 Jiàn guò – a more formal/humble greeting, it literally means you/I “have seen”. No remotely close English so we put “greetings”.

We’ve been using the “second brother” etc style, still looks super awkward to me but I thought we ought to try it out. Does it bother anyone?

Peach blossoms – peach blossoms is a nod to the Oath of the Peach Garden, in which Liu Bei, Guan Yu and Zhang Fei swore brotherhood in the story of the Three Kingdoms.

the_drum_tower_of_xian

Drum Tower 鼓楼 Gǔ lóu – literally closer to drum building, but it’s called a drum tower in the West, but didn’t want anyone to think it was the drum tower at a military camp (which looks like a small watch tower). For your visualizing pleasure during the read. Note the gateway, more visible in this:

linfengulou3

watermark_186

Skimmia Japonica, or rubella shrubs as we put. Does not look like rubella the disease, which is quite nasty. They are basically bushes, and so can easily grow much larger than this one.

 

 

 

Leave a comment